Enabling Autologin Directly from a Console

I originally set up my Arch Linux system to require a console login and to then start the graphical desktop environment. This would have been OK except that the key repeat is set too fast at login and so I often had to re-enter my user ID and password. I was unable to find out how to slow down the key repeat at login but I found something better — how to have an automatic login without the overhead of using a display manager.

I created file /etc/systemd/system/getty@tty1.service.d/autologin.conf as follows:

[Service]
Type=idle
ExecStart=
ExecStart=-/usr/bin/agetty --autologin steve --noclear %I 38400 linux

where steve is my login ID.

Source (Arch Linux Wiki):

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Automatic_login_to_virtual_console#With_systemd

It may also be important that I previously added my user ID to user group autologin.

Tagged with:
Posted in Arch Linux

Leave a Reply

