Obxd

Obxd is a two-oscillator virtual polysynth that was originally developed for Windows.

Obxd-01

I first tried Obxd on Windows and liked it a lot. The source code is released under the GPL and the GUI was created using the cross-platform JUCE library, so I was hoping that Obxd would be ported to GNU/Linux. My wish came true; Obxd has been ported by falkTX and others. A big “thank you” to falkTX for doing that!

The GNU/Linux version is similar to the Windows version, with two omissions:

  • There are no built-in presets.
  • The MIDI learn features (near the lower left corner) have been removed for some reason.

Documentation is available at the home page listed below.

I’m in the process of re-creating some presets from the Windows VST version. I’ll post them here when they’re ready.

Installation

UPDATE 18 JULY 2014: The Installation section is now potentially obsolete. Obxd is now available from the DISTRHO project. I have not tried that version yet; I suspect it’s the same as what I have but packaged in a way that’s easier to install.

**********

I installed Obxd on Arch Linux using a *.deb package from the Debian-based KXStudio distribution. I found I could extract the desired files from the *.deb file and install those files manually. Therefore, this section might be generically useful to anyone interested in installing files from a *.deb package onto a non-Debian based system.

First, I went to the KXStudio page for Obxd and downloaded the appropriate LV2 package for my system. I have a 64-bit system, so I downloaded file obxd-lv2_20140324-1kxstudio1_amd64.deb.

I moved the downloaded file to its own folder and extracted the files from the the *.deb file. I then extracted the files from archive file data.tar.lmza.

The second extract operation created a folder named usr. By navigating down the folder tree from that folder, I discovered that the desired files were in a folder named Obxd.lv2 to be installed at path /usr/lib/lv2/. From the level above the Obxd.lv2 folder, I did the following in a terminal, as root:

# cp -r ./Obxd.lv2 /usr/lib/lv2/

This copied the entire Obxd.lv2 folder to its proper installed location. I was then able to use the LV2 version of Obxd.

NOTE: I performed a similar process to install the VST version of Obxd but it was unstable on my system.

More Information About Obxd

Version: (unknown)

Author: 2DaT (ported to GNU/Linux by falkTX)

Web Site: https://obxd.wordpress.com/ (PDF manual available)

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Instruments
One comment on “Obxd
  1. […] I wrote about the Obxd synthesizer back in June I noted that I was in the process of re-creating some of the presets from the Windows […]

Leave a Reply

